Young People

T Levels

T Levels are nationally-recognised qualifications for 16 to 19-year-olds that take 2 years to complete. Leading businesses and employers helped design T Levels to give you the knowledge and skills you need. They're equal to 3 A levels.

What you'll do on a T Level course

You’ll spend 80% of your time in the classroom and 20% on a minimum 9-week placement with an employer. This means you’ll learn what a real career is like while you continue your studies.

Grades you need to take a T Level

Schools and colleges set their own entry requirements, so check their websites to find out what GCSE grades you need.

Subjects you can take

There are 10 subjects available now in England, including digital, science, construction and health.
More subjects are coming in September 2022 and in the next few years.
Eventually, there will be something for everyone, from agriculture to catering and accounting to engineering.

After your T Level

A T Level is worth the same UCAS points as 3 A levels. You can use UCAS points to apply to university or another type of higher education.
You can also use your T Level to do a related higher level apprenticeship or to get a job.

Use our interactive learning module to find out about where study T levels can take you:

ES Careers images - T levels where next

Download the guide to T levels or view it online by clicking below

Discover T Level sectors



Education & Childcare